Rallycross: Volkswagen driver Kristoffersson wins in France

Johan Kristoffersson © VW

Exuberant celebrations: Johan Kristoffersson (S) from Volkswagen RX Sweden has won the eighth race of the FIA World Rallycross Championship (WRX) season. The Swedish driver celebrated a commanding start-finish win in the finale at Lohéac (F), ahead of Andreas Bakkerud (N, Ford) and Sébastien Loeb (F, Peugeot).


This was the first win of the 2016 season for Kristoffersson and the 600 HP Volkswagen Polo RX Supercar, and it also marked the first triumph for the new Volkswagen RX Sweden team after the merger of Marklund Motorsport and Volkswagen Team Sweden.

However, Kristoffersson’s team-mate Anton Marklund (S) was not so successful, missing out on the semi-final. The next race is scheduled to take place from 16th to 18th September in Barcelona (E).