Rally du Maroc X-Raid : Sixth place for Kuba Przygonski

– Halpern / Graue in 60th place after problems
– Stony tracks become a challenge

The penultimate event of the FIA World Rally Raid Championship was a rollercoaster of emotions for the X-raid team. The two MINI JCW Buggy crews Jakub ‘Kuba’ Przygonski / Armand Monleón and Sebastian Halpern / Bernardo ‘Ronnie’ Graue were able to achieve some good stage results, but problems repeatedly set them back in the overall standings. After six days, Przygonski and his new co-driver Monleón secured sixth place, Halpern and Graue finished the rally in 60th position.

Przygonski contested his first rally together with Armand Monleón in Morocco. Both competed in the Dakar Rally for years on motorbikes. The cooperation between the Pole and the Spaniard worked from the beginning and they achieved some top 10 results in Morocco. Halpern and Graue also managed to finish among the fastest ten several times.

In contrast to the past, this year’s Rally du Maroc did not take the participants to Merzouga, but to the West Sahara. The stony terrain turned out to be the biggest challenge of the 2022 edition. Even the two MINI JCW Buggy crews were not spared punctures that cost valuable time.

Jakub ‘Kuba’ Przygonski: « The Rally du Maroc went well for us. This edition of the rally was exhausting and quite different compared to previous years. Armand was my co-driver for the first time and we both had fun. After six days together in the vehicle, we are attuned to each other. The buggy worked without any problems. Now it’s time to prepare for the Dakar Rally. »

Sebastian Halpern: « It was a difficult rally for Ronnie and me. We had problems with the tyres and many punctures. Of course I’m not happy with the result, but our focus was on navigation and preparations for the Dakar Rally anyway. »

In a few days, the X-raid team will continue with the Andalucía Rally (18-23 October 2022) in Spain – the final rally of the FIA World Rally Raid Championship.

Rallye du Maroc – overall standings
1. G. Chicherit / A. Winoq – BRX – 14h 47m 29s
2. O. Terranova / A. Haro – BRX – 14h 58m 24s
3. N. Al-Attiyah / M. Baumel – Toyota – 15h 16m 53s
4. Y. Al-Rajhi 7 D. von Zitzewitz – Toyota – 15h 29m 00s
5. M. Prokop / V. Chytka – Ford – 15h 48m 06s
6. J. Przygonski / A. Monleon – MINI JCW Buggy – 15h 51m 33s…
60. S. Halpern / B. Graue – MINI JCW Buggy – 38h 42m 55s…