Irish driver wins at 2022 Drift Masters European Championship second round

Irishman Conor Shanahan avenged his final battle defeat to reigning champion Piotr Więcek in Austria last season when he overcame the Polish driver on Sunday to triumph at Round 2 of the 2022 Drift Masters European Championship (DMEC) in Greinbach’s PS Racing Center. Here is all you need to know:

– Shanahan’s journey to the top of the podium was littered with difficult battles all throughout the hard day’s racing as he had to get past 2018 and 2019 DMEC champion James Deane in the Top 8.

– The 19-year-old then had to take down 2017 champion Adam Zalewski to book a spot in the final against current title leader Więcek in a repeat of their Round 1 final in Austria last season with Shanahan gaining revenge.

– Cork native Shanahan said: « I’m delighted to take the win here at Round 2 of Drift Masters. It’s been an incredible, challenging and tiring day, but I finally got back on to the top spot on the podium and I’m super excited to have taken down some of the biggest names in drifting to get this win. It’s great to feel like I’m back in the zone and I think it’s safe to say the race for the championship is now well and truly on. I’m very excited to keep giving it my all for the rest of the season as myself and my team now turn our attention to Sweden in two weeks’ time. »

– Więcek, 31, said: « It’s been an unbelievable weekend for me and one of the toughest I can remember. My team and I spent so much time adjusting the car and still couldn’t get it perfect for the final battle, so I’m just extremely happy that I even managed to make my way into the final and take home second place. Before yesterday’s Qualifying session, I didn’t think it would be possible, so I want to say a huge thank you to all my team and sponsors without whom this wouldn’t have been possible. »

– The 2022 Drift Masters European Championship now shifts its focus from Austria to Round 3 at Sweden’s Drivecenter Arena AB across July 1-2.

2022 DMEC driver standings (after 2 of 6 rounds)
1. Piotr Więcek POL 191 points
2. Conor Shanahan IRE 159
3. James Deane IRE 127
4. Jack Shanahan IRE 124
5. Tor Arne Kvia NOR 107


Soyez le premier à commenter

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.