Baja Aragón 2017 started from Teruel

© DR

The 2017 edition of Baja Aragon has started from Teruel on Friday with the Superspecial, in which Joan Barreda was the fastest among bikes and Nani Roma among cars.

The almost 10 kilometres of the Superspecial, located near the town of Teruel, were the first ones of the more than 800 km that the more than 230 participants will cover this weekend.


Among cars, Toyota swept the virtual podium with Nani Roma setting the fastest time, only 3 tenths ahead of Nasser Al-Attiyah. Behind them, Joao Ramos and Leeroy Poulter (who starts in Baja Aragon for the first time) followed in two more Toyotas. Best of the Minis was Mikko Hirvonen, closely followed by teammate Orlando Terranova.

Although the results of the prologue stage are the ones that determine the starting order for the next day, in the case of cars, the FIA regulation allows the top 10 to choose their starting position. Thus, the final starting order for Saturday´s stage is the following: Nasser Al Attiyah, Nani Roma, Aron Domzala, Ricardo Porem, Orlando Terranova, Mikko Hirvonen, Joao Ramos, Leeroy Poulter, Jordi Gaig and Martin Prokop.

In bikes, Joan Barreda has finished ahead of Iván Cervantes, who started in Baja Aragon for the first time but has participated several times in Dakar Rally besides having a huge experience as enduro World Champion. Friday’s result, catapulted him directly in the list of favourites, along with Barreda and third and fourth placed riders in the Superspecial: Michael Metge and Joan Pedrero. The top 10 in bikes were very close to each other, so only the stages of Saturday will make real difference. Among them, Aragonese Mario Gajón, winner of the event on three occasions, has finished ninth.

Saturday’s stage will start from Teruel at 07:35 for the cars and at 08:56 for the bikes.